OK Laura I heard you the first time !

I received a text message from my colleague, Laura, whilst I was in Holland. Avid readers may understand some of the content. But it went:

“Well done with the shirts. Just hope the soap doesn’t smell of cabbage! Game not started yet, will let u know the outcome”

All fairly random stuff but, at the time, quite meaningful and a little amusing.

Imagine my surprise when, a few hours later, I received the exact same message again. Oh how I chuckled as I thought she had inadvertently sent it twice. It was even mildly amusing when it arrived for a third time. Less so on the fourth as I was beginning to realise that Vodafone like to charge me a roaming fee for receiving text messages whilst outside of Blighty.

By the 8th time it arrived I was beginning to get a bit narked.

My blood was boiling as it landed for the 13th (and final) time whilst I was eating some very nice meatballs with spaghetti at Schiphol – very spicy! You only got two meatballs but they were about the size of a small fist.

It actually made me laugh the first time it arrived but that had long since worn off. Laura’s comedic talent clearly does not have the same longevity as say, the second series of “The Office” which I watch constantly – and still laugh at.

I’m waiting for the bill now from Vodafone to see just how much that little Dutch chuckle is going to cost me. This story is going to run I think because I’m actually looking forward to having some “conversations” with them as we argue over the £4.90 or whatever it turns out to be.

I’ll let you know how I get on.

Just as a little P.S. to this story. I was driving to work one day last week and GMR were covering the story about us now sending more SMS messages in a week than we did in the whole of 1999. Eamonn O’Neal asked listeners (of which I was one) to forward the last text message from their phones. I, of course, chose Laura’s masterpiece (even though, strictly speaking, it wasn’t the last) and just forwarded it in. No names, no pack-drill!

Did they read it out?

Of course they did!

Once?

Of course not!

3 times between 7.45am and 8.15am!

Am I missing something here ?

Leave a comment

Filed under European Tour!

Leave a comment